I Am Every Good Thing

Suggested age 3 – 6

£7.99

Author: Derrick Barnes
Illustrator: Gordon C James
ISBN: 9780755502706
Date Published: 4 Feb. 2021

View series: Gadgeteers Summer Reading Pick

Featured in the Booktrust Great Books Guide 2021

Observer Children’s Picture Book of the Month

Selected by Oprah Magazine as one of its ‘essential books for discussing racism with kids’.

I am a non-stop ball of energy.
Powerful and full of light.
I am a go-getter. A difference-maker. A leader.

Step inside the mind of the confident narrator of this book. He is proud of everything that makes him who he is. He’s got big plans, and will see them through. He’s creative, adventurous, smart, funny. A good friend. A superhero. Sometimes he falls, but he always gets back up. And other times he’s afraid, because he’s often misunderstood. So, slow down, look and listen as he shows you who he really is …

Perfect for fans of Dapo Adeola’s Hey You!

‘Pitch-perfect… Gordon C James’s painted portraits brim with spirit and dignity. The result is a truly special book by an American author-illustrator duo at the top of their game’ – Imogen Carter, Observer

‘A powerful celebration of Black boyhood’ – Booklist, starred review

‘A much-needed book for Black children when society demonstrates otherwise’ – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

‘This beautiful and necessary book that affirms Black boys and their right to thrive’ – Horn Book, starred review

‘An empowering ode to Black boy joy’ – Publishers Weekly, starred review

‘Page after page of empowering text speaks to energetic children everywhere’ – School Library Journal, starred review

Farshore

Dimensions24 × 0.5 × 0.5 cm
Publisher

Farshore

Age

Age 3 – 5, Age 5 – 7

Format

Paperback

Press

“A poetic paean to the brilliance of black boys, its energetic pages filled with courage, joy and vivid, dynamic illustrations”
Guardian
Shopping Cart